1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Participating IPhO-but going college two years late.

1. May 9, 2006 #1
    I really can't decide which one to choose.
    I studied college physics and analytical mechanics.-very deeply.
    So I'm pretty sure that I can earn some medals in IPhO.
    At least it will be very nice experience.
    But one thing-I can't participate this year and next year's IPhO-due to some problem.-being Korean citizen live in US(neither PR nor citizen)
    The thing is I'm junior in highschool. If I go to IPhO, I have to go college two years late. Of course my major is physics.
    One more thing-I'm dying to go to Princeton. But I can't go right now.-came to US in 2005..sat scores are sucks as well as ECs.
    If I go to college next year, I'll probably go to McGill(I know that this college is great).
    I don't know why I am hesitating. But you know..If I give up the chance for participating IPhO now, I can't participate forever. Also, if the result is good, I'll probably get into my dream college.
    One thing that I'm really concerning is-the decision that I won't regret.-that's the real issue. I don't know which way to go.
    I know this is a stupid question. But I want to hear other people's opinion.
    Thank you.
  2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2006 #2
    IPhO stands for International Physics Olympiad, right?

It's a great thing to be in, and hats off for getting to that stage, but it isn't the kind of event that would make me put off college for two years though.
  4. May 10, 2006 #3
    I had a similar problem to yours, I've graduated from highschools for years