Partition coefficient of chlorpromazine in DMSO & pentane

In summary, CPZ is soluble in DMSO but partition coefficients of chlorpromazine in pentane vary. You can use UV-vis to determine the concentration of CPZ in pentane. The partition coefficient of chlorpromazine in pentane is defined as the difference in concentration between CPZ in DMSO in system A and the amount of CPZ that has diffused to pentane.
Schwarzschild90
Determine the partition coefficient of chlorpromazine in DMSO and n-pentane

I'm a physics student and doing a course in biophysics. I would really appreciate it, if you would take some time and provide some hints as to how to design a more concrete plan. Especialy, how do I find out the partition coefficient from system A and B?

Solubility of CPZ in DMSO: 71 mg/mL
Molecular weight of CPZ: 355,33 g/mol

Dissolve 17,7665 mg CPZ in 50 mL DMSO to obtain a 1 mM solution.

Prepare a series of samples of pentane with the following volumes (1 ml, 5 ml, 10 ml, 20 ml, 40 ml) and bring 10 ml of the CPZ+DMSO solution into contact with it.

Shake the solutions to ensure fast equilibration and then centrifuge to separate the two phases.

Use UV-vis to measure the absorbance of chlorpromazine in DMSO and use the absorbance to determine the final concentration of CPZ in pentane. Measure the absorbance between ~200-380 nm.

Use LB to determine the concentrations of each solvent to determine.

The partition coefficient of system B is defined as the difference in concentration between CPZ in DMSO in system A and the amount of CPZ that has diffused to pentane.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
What is the exact definition of the partition coefficient?

Likes Schwarzschild90
Great, you know how to copy and paste. Do you also know hot to apply the definition here? What you need to know to calculate the partition coefficient?

Likes Schwarzschild90
P = A1/A2 = C1/C2, from LBs law