1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Degree for Financial Jobs.

1. Nov 28, 2008 #1
    I'm an Undergraduate student and need help deciding on what to major in. I'm currently a double major in Statistics and Finance. I would like to work up in New York as a analyst or Hedge Fund manager of the sort. However, hedge fund manager might be unrealistic so an analyst job is probably my best bet. With luck I could slowly work my way up the corporate ladder.

I really really enjoy am intereste in physics and more specifically astrophsyics. I've recently read many things about how financial insitutions are looking for more and more physicist to break down complex financial problems. Sense I enjoy both phsyics (astrophysics) and the stock market (analyst side of things) I'm at a crossroads and not sure what to do. If I'm dead set on stock market work Then Statistics and Finance would be a good combination. However, physics open alot more doors such as Law school which I have thought quite a bit about but never seriously. I also could go into some sort of engineering masters program.

I'm looking for direction on the job opportunities in physics and astrophysics. Also wondering how the job outlook is for physics degree in the financial market. If I could get in put from people that are actually in the physics field it woul greatly help. Thanks for your time.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 28, 2008 #2
    sure why not:
    http://www.independent.co.uk/studen...inance-big-money-seeks-big-brains-400360.html

4. Nov 28, 2008 #3
    Right now zero, but that doesn't have anything to do with having a physics degree.

5. Nov 29, 2008 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2015 Award