Possible to exist again in the future?

• Thread starter gravenewworld
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Future
In summary, the author is discussing the idea of quantum immortality, and how it rests on the understanding that if all possible histories happen, then you will be eventually reconstructed. The author also points out that one problem preventing quantum immortality is entropy.
gravenewworld
I just remembered an idea that was presented in one of my math textbooks when I was an undergrad. The basic idea was that if you consider every single atom in the universe, the number of atoms is certainly beyond what the human mind could comprehend, however, the number of those atoms is still finite. Given a finite amount of things there are only a finite amount of ways that they could be arranged. Now, given an infinite amount of time, would the same atoms that compose your body at this very instant be able to arrange themselves in the same way that they are now in the very, very, very distant future since there are only a finite amount of permutations possible? That is, would you be able to exist the same way that you do now, in the future?

Thoughts?

Physics news on Phys.org
No, because the position of the electrons is also important. Our brains use electrons to process information and such, so there positioning and use must be the same also. So it might be you, but not the conscious you. Therefore you look like yourself, but you're not yourself at all.

There are no finite number of places an electron can be. (As far as I know.)

Also what you're saying is that one of you can also exist on the otherside of the universe? What happens when two versions of you exist simultaneously in the conscious sense?

Really interesting.

Send to philosophy!