1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Job Skills Pre-Med Students and Physicians: How do you work w/tremors?

1. Mar 5, 2015 #1
    I'm curious as to how physicians deal with shaking hands, especially during surgical procedures(minor or major). I'm sure that some of you find watching your caffeine intake and making sure that you eat enough helpful. But when that fails, what techniques do you use to stabilize your hands so that you don't harm your patient?

Thanks so much for answers! I'm going into the medical field and am curious about this topic.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 5, 2015 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Yeah, shaking hands are bad news. I'm just an EMT (part-time), and I had to give up coffee to be sure that I didn't scare any of my patients. :smile:

There may be some parts of the medical field where a slight shaking of your hands won't be a problem. But for general physicians, nurses, and medics shaking hands would be a show-stopper. You can't be handling sharps with shaking hands...

You should talk with your doctor to see if there may be some treatments or RX drugs that can help to address this issue. Your doctor can do some tests on you to determine the source of the problem, and suggest possible avenues of treatment. Good luck! :smile:

4. Mar 5, 2015 #3