Proof to Kepler's first and second laws

In summary, there are multiple ways to prove Kepler's first and second laws, but it depends on the level of simplicity and understanding of mathematical concepts. One simple proof involves using Lagrange mechanics, but this may be too advanced for a 10th grade student. The second law can be proven by applying the conservation of angular momentum. Other explanations, such as those involving vector calculus, have also been offered.
Shahar
I am a 10th grade student, and I tried for a few weeks now to find a proof to Kepler first and second laws.
Is there a simple proof to Kepler' s laws?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
As with most things, this depends on your definition of "simple". You can do it pretty simple in Lagrange mechanics, but this is quite far from the scope of your typical 10th grade class. The easiest one is probably the second law, which essentially is just the conservation of angular momentum.

Likes Shahar
Shahar said:
I am a 10th grade student, and I tried for a few weeks now to find a proof to Kepler first and second laws.
Is there a simple proof to Kepler' s laws?
It depends on what you consider to be "simple".

Kepler derived his three laws from examining astronomical observations made by Tycho Brahe. It took many years of work for Kepler to deduce his laws, but an explanation of why these laws were true had to wait until Isaac Newton came along. He gave an explanation in his Principia which was based on geometric principles. Other derivations involving vector calculus have been offered.

Likes Shahar
Orodruin said:
As with most things, this depends on your definition of "simple". You can do it pretty simple in Lagrange mechanics, but this is quite far from the scope of your typical 10th grade class. The easiest one is probably the second law, which essentially is just the conservation of angular momentum.

Oh yeah, I found a solution using conversation of angular momentum.