1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proving Area of n-sided Polygons Maximizes When they are Regular?

1. May 25, 2012 #1
    Hello,

I'm a math tutor at a community college, and one of the students recently asked me why it is always true that a *regular* polygon (regular meaning equiangular and equilateral) has maximum area for any given perimeter. It makes perfect intuitive sense, but neither I nor any of the other tutors could figure out a rigorous method to prove it (the key word here being "rigorous").

The textbook skirted around the issue, and Google is turning up fuzzy results at best. Wikipedia states that it is fact, but only cites a book from 1979 that would be difficult to find.

eCookies for the most elegant proof (::) (::) (::) :)

2. jcsd
  3. May 25, 2012 #2
    I will have to think more to come up with a proof, but I will make mention of some things now. One difficulty in these problems is you have to know what "shapes" are allowed. If you are only looking at platonic polynomials, a simple proof should be had.

However, I think these types of proofs can be very difficult if you are looking for full generality. For example, the isoperimetric problem simply states, of all closed curves in ##\mathbb{R}^2## having some fixed length, which one maximizes area? Intuitively the answer is a circle, but its proof is rather difficult.

In your problem you seem to be only looking at polynomials with fixed perimeter and a fixed number of sides. If you are familiar with calculus of variations, you could exhaust all such polynomials and have a proof. Steiner Symmetrization is also another promising route. However, I think these are some very large guns to for this problem.

4. May 25, 2012 #3