1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Computing and Math prequisities

1. Oct 10, 2015 #1
    Hello,
    I am a Physics undergraduate, currently beginning my third (out of four) year of studies. I have already taken courses about Real and Complex Analysis, Linear Algebra, ODEs and PDEs (for Maths), Classical Mechanics (Lagrangian and Hamiltonian formalism), Electromagnetism, Special Relativity and some other that I think that are irrelevant for my question. I'm having QM courses in the current and the next semester.

I open the thread, because I managed to finish one of the courses I normally have in this semester from a previous one, so I have time to study something else instead of that one. Currently, I am thinking the Quantum Computing field about the future. Although, I already know some concepts in QM and Dirac's notation (I can solve excercises), I prefer to finish the QM courses before I deal with quantum comptutation. However, I would like to ask if there is any Mathematics subjects I can study, which would be useful for quantum computing.

I also mention that I planned to take a group theory course from the next year, but I cannot do this because it doesn't fit my program, so I have to wait till next year. The only extra course I can now take in my university is Differential Geometry, but from what I read it is not so useful for QC and I do not plan to study General Relativity, at least for now. Another option is to self-study topology, which seems more useful (however self-studying is much harder than taking the course...).