Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Computing

1. May 18, 2010 #1
    Hi All - My name is Dan Sandberg and I am studying physical chemistry at the Univ. of Connecticut in the USA.

I recently heard a talk on quantum computing and, at the time, began to picture a quantum computer which employed a photoactive protein. I decided to attempt to see this idea to fruition and present it to the department. However I can not seem to get a strong grasp on the intricacies of the quantum computer and I am stumbling with some of the jargon. I was hoping someone could assist me with answering some perhaps basic questions.

For example,

In 1993, Seth Lloyn, Prof. of quantum mechanical engineering at MIT, published a paper on "A Potentially Realizable Quantum Computer". In this paper he states, "the only logical operations that necessarily require dissipation are irreversible ones". What does he mean by "dissipation"?

2. jcsd
  3. May 18, 2010 #2

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Dissipation basically means that the system is losing energy; or -more generally- is "leaking" (in an optical system dissipation could happen due to e.g. imperfect mirrors resulting in a loss of photons).
    A good example would be an LCR circuit where (ideally) the inductor and capacitor are lossless but energy is lost in the resistor (because electrical energy is converted into heat).

4. May 19, 2010 #3
    I understand and I sort of assumed that dissipation meant energy dissipation. What I'm still struggling with still is 1) why the only logical operations that necessarily require dissipation are irreversible ones (Landauer's result) which I can look into further on my own but more importantly 2) why dissipation is required for error correction to quantum computers?

5. May 19, 2010 #4

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member