Question concerning Fluid Mechanics.

In summary: Third, you do not need to test each coolant twice. You can test one coolant multiple times and just keep track of the average value. Fourth, there is no linear relationship between chemicals. Fifth, thermodynamics is the study of the physical and chemical properties of matter and energy at the molecular and submolecular level. Sixth, you should definitely make a thread for help.
lawtonfogle
Is their a easy formula to find out how strong a pump needs to be based upon the number of elbows in a piping system. I am working on some heat transfers of the piping system, but now I need to know about the pump, and I have no knowledge of fluid mechanics to use to answer find this formula.

If nothing else, does anyone have an easy to understand (non-cal based if possible) website they wouldn't mind sharing. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I will post something for you tomorrow.

Ok, here is what you need to know. What you are going to use is essentially the extended bernoulli equation.

[tex] \frac {P_1}{ \rho} + \frac {V_1^2}{2g} + z_1 + h_s = \frac {P_2}{ \rho} + \frac {V_2^2}{2g} + z_2 + h_L [/tex]

[tex] h_s [/tex] is the pressure head that your pump will have to provide to over come the losses in the flow, [tex] h_L [/tex].

Solving for [tex]h_s[/tex] will allow you to find the HP of the pump required.

[tex]h_L [/tex] is the losses that occur in your pipe.

These losses take on two forms, Minor losses and Major losses.

Major losses are due to the viscous effects (shear stresses) of the flow. This will be [tex] f \frac{ l}{D} \frac{V^2}{2g} [/tex]

l -is the length of the piping.
D - is the inside diameter of the pipe.

In addition, you will have minor losses due to the elbows.

[tex] h_L = K_L \frac{ V^2}{2g} [/tex]

The value of [tex] K_L[/tex] changes depending on the fixture. For example, [tex] K_L[/tex] of a threaded elbow is 1.5, flanged 0.3 etc.