Question in style for publication

• Thread starter nomadreid
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Publication
In summary, the conversation is about proofreading an article for publication and the use of different methods to create equations in Word 2007. The problem is that some equations are in italics, some in plain, and some in a mixture. The experts suggest converting all equations to the Word equation editor form, as it is more versatile. It is also suggested to check with the publisher for their preferred format, and to italicize mathematical symbols for clarity. It is mentioned that some journals prefer Word over LaTex, but it is important to embed fonts to ensure proper display of symbols.
nomadreid
Gold Member
I'm proofreading someone's article for publication, but I'm not a professional proofreader. The document is in Word 2007, and some of the formulas have been created by just typing (with superscript, subscript, etc.), along with "insert Symbol", and some have been created by using Word's equation editor ("Insert Equation"), and some by a mixture of the two techniques. The problem is that some of the equations are in italics , some in plain, and some in a mixture. I suppose I must convert all of these to having one or the other style, but I don't know which. Advice? Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would convert to the Word equation editor form, since you will eventually run into a symbol that can't be represented by the simpler keyboard method and will then jump to the Equation editor.

Likes 1 person
Thanks, jedishrfu. Sounds like good advice, but I am not sure about the justification: my experiments seem to show that I can convert any symbol used in the Equation editor (whose default is italics) into non-italics by highlighting it and pressing "I".