Rearranging equations - is this correct?

• Thread starter Lucy573
  • Start date
In summary, to check if your rearranged equation is correct, you can substitute values and compare results, or solve for different values. The basic rule for rearranging equations is to perform the same operation on both sides. However, certain rules must be followed, such as flipping the inequality sign when multiplying or dividing by a negative number. Common mistakes to avoid include not performing the same operation on both sides, not following the correct order of operations, and making typos or errors. The rules for rearranging equations apply to all types of equations, but specific steps may vary.
Lucy573

Homework Statement

Rearrange F=Kq1q2/r^2 to make K the subject

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

K=Fr^2/q1q2 - is this correct? Sorry I am new to this! Thanks :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, that's correct.

Fab thanks - should have more faith!

If you want to check your answer, just make up values for k, q1, q2, and r and find F. Then use that F along with the same values for q1, q2, and r and see if you get what you assigned to k originally.

1. How do I know if my rearranged equation is correct?

To check if your rearranged equation is correct, you can substitute the values of the variables into both the original and rearranged equation and see if they give the same result. Another way is to solve the equation for different values of the variables and see if they produce the same output.

2. What are the rules for rearranging equations?

The basic rule for rearranging equations is to perform the same operation on both sides of the equation to isolate the variable you are solving for. This can include adding, subtracting, multiplying, or dividing both sides by the same number or variable.

3. Can I rearrange equations in any order?