Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Recommendations for an affordable 3D CAD for home use

1. Mar 22, 2017 #1
    Hey!

I hope this is the right place to post this. I'm looking for recommendations for a modeling/drafting cad program that is relatively affordable and capable. I have extensive experience with NX and Solidworks, but can't justify paying for either of those to simply use at home. My non-work hobby involves designing and fabricating unique car parts for a select community and it would be extremely helpful to have home CAD ability again to be able to make models and drawings for the local machine shop I use. I don't mind paying something for it, but can't justify $3000 + renewal fees. Any recommendations/suggestions are much appreciated.

Seth Allen

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 22, 2017 #2
  4. Mar 22, 2017 #3
    I haven't yet but I will download it when I get home and see! I don't need anything overly complicated. Thanks!

5. Mar 22, 2017 #4