Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Representations of semi-simple lie algebra

1. Mar 22, 2015 #1
    Hello everybody,

in Schwartz' QFT book it says (p. 483 - 484)
    In Problem 25.3 this is repeated asking the reader for a proof. I wonder though if this is really true. I know this can be proven for Lie algebras of compact Lie groups (or to be precise, every representation is equivalent to a hermitian one), but I would not know how to show it for semisimple Lie algebras.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 23, 2015 #2

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

page 230 of the book by fuchs and schweigert may be relevant. it shows how to construct a hermitian form on a highest weight module, which in the semi simple case is non degenerate. but i am a novice here.

4. Mar 24, 2015 #3
    Hello mathwonk,

thank you for your answer. Unfortunately this argument is a bit too abstract for me. However, if this means that the statement is indeed true I will try to find a more elementary proof. If I fail I will ask for help in the Homework & Courseworks forum section.

5. Apr 14, 2015 #4

6. Apr 14, 2015 #5
    As you've already mentioned you know the proof for compact Lie groups, i.e. Weyl's unitarian trick, this result is a simple application of it. I'll start with a lightning review of Weyl's trick. To a compact Lie group G, associate a biinvariant measure dg. Now form an inner product on the complex vector space V, being used for the representation. Take this measure and average it over the group.Since V was taken to be complex, this averaged measure must be Hermitian.