Research with Ritchey–Chrétien 400 mm telescope

In summary, the person is a first year undergrad student looking for research opportunities during summer with a Ritchey-Chrétien 400 mm telescope. They are asking for recommendations for interesting topics that are not too difficult and can make for a good research article. A suggestion is variable star observing and plotting light curves, with resources from AAVSO. Another suggestion is exoplanet light curves. Finally, spectroscopy is also recommended with various subjects such as comets and galaxies. The person is encouraged to have fun with their telescope.
Xsnac
Hello! I'm a first year undergrad student and I have the oportunity to do research durring summer with an Ritchey–Chrétien 400 mm telescope. Can you guys recommand me something to research? I don't even know where to start with my search for interesting topics that are not too hard and that will probably make up a good article for research. I have 3-4 months to decide. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Astronomy news on Phys.org
To bounce off of Davenn's suggestion, you could do some exoplanet light curves. I've done one myself using my own 200 mm RC.

1. What is a Ritchey-Chrétien 400 mm telescope?

A Ritchey-Chrétien telescope is a type of reflecting telescope that uses two hyperbolic mirrors to gather and focus light. The 400 mm refers to the diameter of the primary mirror, which is the main component of the telescope.

2. What is the purpose of using a Ritchey-Chrétien 400 mm telescope?

The purpose of using a Ritchey-Chrétien 400 mm telescope is to gather and focus light from distant objects in space, allowing scientists to study and observe them in detail. This type of telescope is commonly used for astronomical research and can also be used for satellite tracking and deep space imaging.

3. What are the advantages of using a Ritchey-Chrétien 400 mm telescope?