1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Scientific Computing Application Area?

1. Jul 31, 2014 #1
    Hi everyone!
    I have a question for you all. I'm a 3rd year undergraduate math student who took 4 years away from school and I'm going to be returning this Fall(^.^). Prior to leaving school, I'd take courses in C++, Numerical Methods, Two additional semesters of Numerical Analysis, Modern Algebra, Vector Calculus, Advanced Calculus, Linear Algebra, and the first two courses in both Chemistry and Calculus based Physics. Since I've been out, when I go back I'm going to take it slow and pad my existing knowledge of math with some other subjects(mainly computer science).

I understand that I need to learn a little science in order to be useful in a research lab, so does anyone have any suggestions about what classes I should take in that pursuit? It's been 6 years since Chemistry and 5 years since Physics, but I really enjoyed both. How hard would it be to get back in the saddle with those and take upper level courses in those disciplines? A lot of the computer science professors at my school work in bioinformatics, I know some folks in the chemistry department(quantum/computational chemistry), and I have the opportunity to take courses in most any field. Does anyone have any recommendations for what would be a good route? Thanks :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2014 #2
    To help narrow it down, here are some courses I'm window shopping at the moment. Which ones do you think would best for me with my background?

Intro to Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
    Math Methods in Physics
    Thermal Physics
    Physical Chemistry
    Electromagnetic Fields