Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Searching for an equation - cfpm/heat exchange

1. Jun 29, 2008 #1
    I am involved in a project that cools outside air to underground temperatures at 6' below ground in Florida soil. we are using thin wall PVC @ 4" diameter. i am looking for an equation that will tell me how long to make the pipe and what the ideal cfpm should be to achieve desired temperature for exiting air. this is my first time visiting a forum of any type and my experience in physics is limited. i have been educated in algebra, that should come in handy.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 30, 2008 #2

Staff: Mentor

Unfortunately, heat transfer coefficients are generally found experimentally. The math required to calculate the fluid dynamics of convection is not only difficult, but pinning down the variables is near impossible.

Can you do some tests?
  4. Jun 30, 2008 #3

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It's possible to get at very least order of magnitude calculations (if not better, depending on knowing exact operating conditions) for heat transfer from a tube with fluid flowing through it. However, the equations are rigorous and have many pre-conditions and empirically calculated constants. A knowledge of heat transfer and fluid dynamics would be a must to really understand what's going on.

Modern heat-transfer textbooks will have these equations and their derivations in them, so that's an OK place to start. However, the equations' derivations will probably be based on Calculus and Differential Equations, so they will be quite difficult to follow for someone with an Algebra background.
  5. Jun 30, 2008 #4