1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Shift from biotechnology bs to astrophysics masters

1. Mar 22, 2016 #1
    Hi, i am currently studying in biotech university. As I'm going up to 3rd year, i need to choose a major (i study in europe). The only choices i have are molecular biology and environmental technology. However, i have always been wanting to study and pursue career in astrophysics. Due to financial problems and personal issues, i had to follow biotech program. I was wondering if I could take masters in astrophysics if I graduate from either majors i have mentioned. In addition, which major would give most credits, if I can take astrophysics masters, to take astorphysics masters?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 23, 2016 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

No sorry, I don't see any plausible way of this happening. Certainly if you're in Europe, they tend to be strict about prerequisites. You should check some interesting European universities and check what they demand in order to be enrolled in a master in astrophysics. But I highly highly doubt that biotech will be sufficient.

4. Mar 25, 2016 #3
    Tackling a similar problem. Happen to have found this interesting one year course at King's College London which attempts to do something along a similar line (transition non physics undergraduates to a physics masters):

http://www.kcl.ac.uk/nms/depts/physics/currentstu/handbook/Progs/ug/Graduate-Diploma-in-Physics.aspx