Should I even try physics at this point?

In summary: In fact, you majored in economics because you could easily graduate in 4 years and felt that it would help you get a good job after school. This was shallow thinking obviously, but majoring in physics doesn't guarantee a good job either. In fact, physics could hurt me since it's harder than economics and I could end up getting a lower GPA which could make finding employment more difficult. In summary, you are considering switching majors to physics due to the boredom you feel in your current econ major, but you are also aware that there is a lot of math and time involved and that it may get difficult in the end. You also fear that a physics degree may be looked down upon compared to an econ
Tripoli
Hello, I'm currently a sophomore in college and I'm majoring in econ. I find econ boring and I'm not motivated in my classes. To me, physics has always been a very interesting topic and I'm thinking about switching majors to it. Unfortunately, doing so would require me to take a total of 5 years to graduate (Or more, if I want to further space out the hard classes at the end). I don't know what I want to do after college and I do not currently have the desire to go for a MS/PhD were I to major in physics (and sure as hell not in economics, either). I simply want to learn about the workings of the universe because I'm curious.

I know that getting a physics degree isn't simply walking into a classroom and having Carl Sagan blow your mind. I'm aware there's lots of math and time involved and that it gets difficult in the end, but perhaps I don't truly appreciate how difficult it really is. Many physics majors talk about getting burned out in some of their classes and they certainly aren't having much fun at times. Since I don't like economics, I may have the "grass is greener on the other side" mentality.