1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Showing that (m n) + (m n-1) = (m+1 n).

1. Apr 7, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Show that if n is a positive integer at most equal to m, then
    (m n) + (m n-1) = (m+1 n).

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I understand that (m n) = m!/n!(m-n)!. I'm not entirely sure how to figure out (m n-1) because the book I'm studying from never explains this. It merely explains factorials and then shows that (m n) = m!/n!(m-n)!; however, I can at least figure out by reasoning it out that (m n-1) = m!/(m-n+1)!(n-1)!. However, I cannot understand how the next step goes.

If we're adding m!/n!(m-n)! and m!/(m-n+1)!(n-1)! then I'm at a loss. The book says that the common denominator is n!(m-n+1)!, but I don't understand that. And the numerator comes out to be m!(m-n+1)+m!n?! This I just cannot understand! I've turned this problem over in my head for over and hour and still nothing! Please help!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 7, 2012 #2
    This problem is from Serge Lang's 'Basic Mathematics' book. Chapter 1 - Numbers >> Rational Numbers >> Problem 7, part d.

4. Apr 7, 2012 #3

rock.freak667

Homework Helper

Since you have the two terms on the left expanded try expanding the individual terms.

Your book should say that n!= n(n-1)(n-2)(n-3)...x3x2x1 right?

Well this can be written in a simpler manner, n!=n(n-1)!

See if you can simplify and bring both terms to a common denominator.

5. Apr 7, 2012 #4
    The book doesn't say anything about how n! = n(n-1)!. But that confuses me. I'm new to factorials and the binomial coefficient, so I'm a little confounded at the moment. How is n! = n(n-1)! a simplification of n! = n(n-1)(n-2)(n-3)...x3x2x1? :O

6. Apr 7, 2012 #5