1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple proof that if x^2 = y^2 then x=-y or x=y

1. Jun 15, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Hi, I'm a high school student currently working through Spivak for the first time and this is my first proof based introduction to mathematics so I just wanted to make sure that I was doing the following correctly:

Prove that if [itex] x^2 = y^2[/itex] then [itex]x=y[/itex] or [itex]x=-y[/itex]

3. The attempt at a solution
    [itex] (-y)^2 = (-y)*(-y) = (-1*y)*(-1*y) = (-1)*(-1)*y*y = 1*y*y = y*y = y^2 [/itex]
    so...
    [itex] (-y)^2 = y^2 [/itex]
    or...
    [itex] x^2 = y^2 [/itex] when [itex] x= -y [/itex]

Is this proof logical assuming the 12 basic properties of multiplication and addition that spivak lists in chapter 1?

For the fist case ([itex] x= y [/itex]) I'm kind of confused. I could do this:

if [itex] y*y = y^2 [/itex]
    then [itex] y^2 = y^2 [/itex] and [itex]x^2 = y^2[/itex] if [itex] x=y[/itex]

but that seems far too easy, am I missing something or is that part just that simple?

Thanks for any help :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 15, 2015 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

I don't have Spivak, so I don't know the 12 properties he lists.

Starting with x2 = y2, you can write an equivalent equation, x2 - y2 = 0. The left side can be factored...

4. Jun 15, 2015 #3
    Basically just the associative, commutative and distributive properties (as in ##a(x+y) = ax + ay##, not at the level of factoring of ##x^2-y^2##) . Factoring is a higher level algebraic property and must first be proved using those three if you wish to use it here as far as I know.