Exploring the SRU Universe: A Guide for New Students

In summary, using a slide rule is a great way to improve your math skills, but it is also a lot of work and it is expensive to buy a new slide rule.
robertm
http://www.sphere.bc.ca/test/sruniverse.html"

So I am thinking of making the leap here (these are pretty expensive for my budget). I have never used one before, however, I usually like to write out equations and make little sketches for my personal visualizations. I was thinking a more visual mathematical interface such as the slide rule might actually be beneficial for me.

I will be entering my freshman year in a few short months (:redface:), and will be doubling up on mathematics courses relevant to a physics degree.

So what do you think grey beards? Would it be worth my time/effort? Any suggestions on model's would be greatly appreciated as well!

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I would say, no.

While there are some advantages to a slide rule, eternal batteries and automatic significant digit tracking. The time required to become proficient would be better spend on math (at your stage). Further note that in either math or physics and numerical result is not real goal. In both math and physics the real value of the problem lies in the process leading to the result.

Hmmm, good point. I am definitely not going towards an engineering track where the individual numbers would matter significantly more...

I know I do not need one. Maybe I should just right my current interests off as a bit of nostalgia. I am a sucker for gadgets. :rolleyes:

I would say yes, but I collect slide rules.

Slide Rule Universe is a great site to research slide rules, but they are expensive. A new, in-the-box slide rule is a great collector's item, but if you use it, the value drops immediately. They also charge a fairly high price for used slide rules.