Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solving Second Order Differential Equations

1. Nov 5, 2009 #1
    Hi everyone,

I am studying to write my final Mechanical Engineering Prep Exam and have come across some problems that I am having a hard time figuring out.

I have managed to figure out how to use the Euler-Cauchy Equations to solve problems of the form: x2y" + axy' + by = 0 where a and b are constants and you substitute in y = xm.

But I came across these examples and am wondering if the same method would work to solve them:

1. 2x2y" - 5xy' - 4y = 3x4

2. y" + 2y' - 3y = 9x2 + e-3x

3. x" + 4x = 3cos2t + 4cos3t

any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2009 #2

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The first equation is a non-homogeneous Euler Cauchy equation and the others are constant coefficient equations. You solve the Euler-Cauchy homogeneous equation as you have described. Similarly for the constant coefficient equations you assume a solution of the form y = erx to get the characteristic equation which leads to the homogeneous solution.

Then for a particular solution to add to the general solution of the homogeneous equation you can use variation of parameters or, in the constant coefficient case, the method of undetermined coefficients.

There is lots of information about these types of equations on the internet. For example, Google phrases like:

undetermined coefficients
    variation of parameters
    constant coefficient differential equations
    Euler differential equation.

4. Nov 6, 2009 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

It can also be helpful to observe that the substitution t= ln(x) or x= et will transform an Euler-Cauchy equation (in x) to an equation (in t) with constant coefficients with the same characteristic equation.

5. Nov 6, 2009 #4
    Thanks for the help guys,