1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Space Engineering, Which Degree?

1. Sep 21, 2008 #1
    Hi all, I'm a high school student, and I want to become an engineer working for the space industry, or program. I'm living in New Zealand, with UK citizenship, so most likely this means me working in Europe. But, I'm going to do my undergraduate studies here in NZ.

I have three paths, BE in Mechanical Engineering, BE in Mechatronics, and BTech in Optoelectronics. The BTech degree combines half physics (concentrating on electronics and particle physics)courses, and half electrical engineering courses.

The BTech would be the one I most wish to pursue, as I really want to study physics, despite wanting to become an engineer. So getting both put into the same degree really attracted me. But, it's not a full on engineering degree, so I couldn't register to become an engineer. Would this matter for the space industry?

If it turns out to be better going along with BE, I've looked at most job descriptions, and they all say 'mechanical'. But a lot also require experience with software, so mechatronics seems like a good solution. It also appeals a lot more to me to study (you get to work on robots, instead of washing machines etc...), but it's not really as recognized as a degree as mechanical.

Also, the masters I want to study is: http://www.cranfield.ac.uk/soe/postgraduatestudy/astronautics/index.jsp

Which says you don't need an engineering degree specifically. Employment rates from that course are huge as well (96% within 6 months apparently). So maybe a BTech would be an acceptable idea anyway?

I'm a bit lost, and don't have much time left until I have to apply for university. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks for any help.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 21, 2008 #2