Space saver compartments with mechanical crank device

In summary, the woodworker is designing a "box of compartments", with a hidden mechanism to move the compartments to the right of the open space. There are two issues: what kind of trigger mechanism can be used, and how to get the compartments to turn the square corners. The purpose of the project is to use as many compartments as possible in one given space. The final size of the project is not yet determined, but it will probably be complex and require gears.
davidbdix
Greetings. I am a woodworker, and i build lockboxes with hidden compartments and complicated homemade magnetic locks. On my current lockbox, i am trying to design a "box of compartments", 16 compartments to be precise. included is a quick top view (looking down) design. there are actually 15 compartments and one empty space (the empty space is same size as the other compartments). what i want to happen is by turning a 'hand crank' or some type of similar device, the compartment to the right of the open space moves to that open space. as the crank continues to turn, the next compartment moves over. (e.g. 12 moves to slot 11, then 10 moves to slot 11, and so on). there are a couple of issues i am facing. what kind of trigger mechanism can i use? as the hand crank turns and the first compartment moves into the open space, i need some type of trigger mechanism to "tell" the next compartment to move into the open space? another issue is how to get these compartments to turn the square corners. i thought about using a 'track' that makes turns, and each compartment would have 2 points that fit into the track. as the compartment moves into the corner, the point facing the movement direction would jump to the next track. I am stuck on this idea. i know there's a solution, but i can't see it right now.

Attachments

• compartment1.jpg
    compartment1.jpg
    13.3 KB · Views: 380
Astronomy news on Phys.org