Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Spin-orbit Interaction & Degenerate Perturbation Theory

1. Nov 7, 2014 #1
    Hello! This is my first time posting, so please correct me if I have done anything incorrectly.

There's something that I don't understand about the spin-orbit interaction.

First of all I know that
    [itex][\hat{S} \cdot \hat{L}, \hat{L_z}] \ne 0[/itex]
    [itex][\hat{S} \cdot \hat{L}, \hat{S_z}] \ne 0[/itex]

so this means that [itex] \hat{S} \cdot \hat{L} [/itex] doesn't share a common set of eigenstates with [itex] \hat{S_z} [/itex] and [itex] \hat{L_z} [/itex].

I know that [itex]| nlm_lsm_s>[/itex] is a common eigenstate for [itex] \hat{S_z} [/itex] and [itex] \hat{L_z} [/itex],
    so that would mean it is not an eigenstate for [itex] \hat{S} \cdot \hat{L} [/itex].

However, I've read that [itex]<nlm_l'sm_s'|\hat{S}\cdot\hat{J}|nlm_lsm_s>\ne0[/itex] for all [itex] m_l \ne m_l', m_s\ne m_s' [/itex] i.e. the diagonal elements are non-zero. Surely if [itex]| nlm_lsm_s>[/itex] is not an eigenstate of [itex] \hat{S} \cdot \hat{L} [/itex], then the matrix element cannot be evaluated?

Thank you in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2014 #2

DrDu

Science Advisor

I can't follow your conclusion.

4. Nov 8, 2014 #3
    Hiya! Thanks for the reply!

I think my thought process went like this:
    Suppose I have an operator [itex] \hat{Q} [/itex], then the eigenvalue equation [itex] \hat{Q} |q>=q|q> [/itex] can only be evaluated if [itex] |q> [/itex] is an eigenstate of [itex] \hat{Q} [/itex].