Starting graduate school; advice on deeper understanding?

In summary, the individual is a physics student preparing for graduate studies at a top-5 school. They are aware of the high standards and plan to work hard to gain a deeper understanding of their field. They propose a two-year program to re-learn physics and math topics and have a list of textbooks they plan to use. They intend to spend a month or two on each book and then do related problems. They also mention their goal to learn topics deeply for future research and ask for advice on the sequence of books and courses. However, others in the conversation express concern about the individual's plan and suggest focusing on more specialized topics instead of a general education.
ajtcal
(PREAMBLE: skip to the third paragraph if desired)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am currently a physics student about to begin my graduate studies. I will be attending a top-5 school, so I am quite fortunate in that regard. However, having spent time there doing summer research (QCD), I am fully aware of the high standards that will be imposed on me and the fact that I will be working much harder than ever before.

It is my goal to acquire a deeper understanding of my field than I currently have, and that is the basis of my question. I want to re-learn (so to speak) the physics and math that I already do know so that I can have a better foundation for understanding the deeper topics that I will need later on in my research. Therefore, I am considering a program of study to complete during my first two years. I will have a fellowship and I have a very easy-going adviser, so other than a few classes and further work on research (continuing from my summer term), I should be able to devote a good deal of time to these studies.