Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Static Analysis Of Bolted Joints

1. Feb 14, 2019 #1
    Greetings,

I'm an Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering student. I want to design bolted joints on Figure 1, I'm trying to perform a basic static analysis of the structure to understand the forces acting on its members and its current stress state. I've included dimensions and position of its components in Figure 2. Units are in inches. The structure is divided into three levels, each consisting of two beams which share a combined load of 480-lbs. Assuming they share an even 240-lbs per beam and taking the line of action to be perpendicular to the beam's centerline, I've included my free-body diagram and calculations in Figure 3 and Figure 4.

Figure 1.
    upload_2019-2-14_12-5-41.png

Figure 2.
    upload_2019-2-14_12-14-32.png

This structure rests on the floor as support. I never realized until now, but college courses never use the floor as a support in assignments, so I'm not entirely sure how to approach it. It's hard to see, but Figure 1 shows that the two beams of the bottom level aren't touching the ground. The entire structure is supported by the two 58" beams on the bottom.

My intuition says that the reaction forces from a planar supporting surface, like the floor, will create a distributive force with its peak acting along the line of action and progressively diminishing at distances away from said point. (Figure 5) In the example shown in Figure 5, these distributive reaction forces can then be simplified as two concentrated forces acting on or near the line of action of its loads.

Due to the symmetry of applied loads shown in the free-body diagram of Figure 3, I'm expecting two reaction forces a distance u and u' from the origin. I also expect 14" < u < 20", where u' = u if measured from the right.

Figure 3.
    upload_2019-2-14_13-8-0.png