Statistical Mechanics = Nightmare

In summary: I haven't taken a dedicated course in it, nor have I taken statisitics. Some students who are really good in physics may have taken a Statistical Mechanics course, but it is not a *requirement* in the physics curriculum. That said, I think that the book is poorly organized and I am going to have to work very hard to understand the material. I was wondering if there was a book that covered the same topics as Reif, but perhaps in a little more detail, or with more "simple" text.In summary, the conversation involves an undergrad physics major discussing their difficulty with understanding statistical mechanics, a course they are currently taking. The course is considered graduate level and the textbook being used is "Fundamentals of
AdkinsJr
That's the only equation I know on the topic so far. I'm an undergrad physics major and one of my courses this term is statistical mechanics which I am finding to be overwhelmingly difficult to understand. Apparently the course is considered "graduate level," although they still require us to take it; the instructor mentioned this on the first day...and said the text is a graduate level text. I've taken many upper level courses, quantum and E&M, PDE etc. so I am competent in Physics in general, but I cannot follow discussions in my text for Stat Mech.

Fundamentals of Statistical and Thermal Physics; Frederick Reif

If anyone has read this book, do you consider beyond the scope of undergrad physics? We are not required to take statistics or thermodynamics either which I am worried about...

Are there any alternative texts that covers the same topics but in a manner that is easier for undergad students to understand?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org