1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Studying Math without propper foundations

1. Oct 18, 2009 #1
    I'm 19 years old and I am in first year computer science. I've really fallen in love with the math that we do (discrete math, linear algebra, multivariable calculus) in this program and I'm thinking of switching majors to math or do a double major in math and computer science..

What I'm worried about is that this interest in math came very suddenly and I never used to really practice math.. I used to do the minimum just to pass the exam. For example I refused to learn long division as a child because I was told in highschool we would be allowed calculators in the exam, so I had to quickly teach myself polynomial long division for calculus (partial fractions) without even knowing how to do it with numbers..

My question is, if I wasn't always the math-whizz at school is it still possible for me to catch up and major in mathematics, or will it just be too difficult since I haven't mastered the basics?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2009 #2
    Half way through my sophomore year in high school I was dropped by all but one class since I was never showing up. Boose, girls, and music were my priority. I was constantly getting in fist-fights and was even suspended once. Later on I had to go to a remedial high school for down-and-out kids in order to graduate on time. I graduated with a 2.1 GPA. The highest math I ever took in high school was an "informal" algebra class.

Then, somehow I scored high enough on the ACT to be immediately accepted into my current university. Fast-forward to today: I am a math major with an extremely strong GPA and I've been the recipient of many academic awards and scholarships.