Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Surface Fluorination/Hydroxyl Group

1. May 23, 2013 #1
    I'm a condensed matter student with limited knowledge of chemistry or bond notation. In the attached paper, I'm trying to understand what is meant by
    [tex] \equiv\text{Ti}-\text{OH}[/tex]
    and
    [tex] \equiv\text{Ti}-\text{F}[/tex]
    All I've been able to gather is that these represent "surface groups", although I'm not sure what is meant by "groups" in this context. I'm pretty new to bond notation, but I'm reasonably sure that the three horizontal lines represent a triple bond, but I'm not sure how I should interpret this in the context of surface species.

Finally, I know what a ligand is in the context of crystal field theory/coordination complexes, but I don't know what is meant by a "simple ligand exchange" that allows us to go from the first equation to the second. What does this mean and how exactly does this occur?

Any explanation/interpretation would be appreciated. No explanation is oversimplified, because this is all Greek to me at this point.

Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2013 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

To quote the paper:

My understanding is it doesn't mean triple bond per se, just the Ti atom on the surface, bonded to the rest of the material in an unspecified way.

4. May 23, 2013 #3
    But the notation has to mean something, right? I wouldn't think they'd choose that notation arbitrarily. I've attached another paper on Si that uses the same thing, with

[tex] \equiv\text{Si}-\text{O}^- [/tex]

Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2013
  5. May 23, 2013 #4

Borek

Which can only mean it is an established way of representing a surface atom. Note that in the second paper (Fig. 7) Si is not connected to other atoms in the crystal by the triple bond, it is connected mostly to oxygen atoms.