Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Synchronized Bosons and Entropy.

1. Jul 30, 2011 #1
    How is it that the tendency for bosons to take the same state doesn't violate rules of entropy? I can understand why Bose-Einstein condensation wouldn't, because that's how the particles take a minimum energy state.

I know lasers work because the photons present encourage other photon involvement (excitation) because of this property of bosons. Is it that this ordered laser beam actually has an increased number of microstates? (that's my best guess) I'm only an undergraduate, so I'm assuming there's more "inner-workings" that I don't know of.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2011 #2

kith

Science Advisor

According to the second law, entropy rises monotonically only in isolated systems. The entropy of a BEC is very low, but to achieve it, you have to cool strongly, therefore heating the environment and increasing the entropy there. The same is true for the laser.

In general, the tendency of a system to go to its ground state can be viewed as a consequence of the second law. If you have an ensemble of atoms in a given excited state and the "empty" radiation field (wich corresponds to T=0), the entropy increases if the atoms emit photons which then occupy states of the radiation field. On the other hand, if you have an ensemble of atoms in the ground state and a thermal radiation field, the entropy increases, if the atoms absorb photons until they reach thermal equilibrium. (as you've mentioned, entropy corresponds to the number of available microstates for a given macrostate)

What the ground state of a given system is, has nothing to do with entropy but is determined by QM. So there's nothing special about the boson case.

Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  4. Jul 31, 2011 #3

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor