1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Telling your professors what your major is

1. Jul 25, 2011 #1
    Telling your professors what your major is....

I think this is definitely a lower level topic, but a couple of days ago one of my professors asked me what my major is and when I told her...she knit her eyebrows and gave me a look of...scorn I guess. I am not sure really, but it was not a good reaction. I was a little surprised and tried to probe her as to why she reacted like that, and she clammed up. I make very good grades and she regularly tells me I did a good job. I talk to her but I do not hang around after class to talk to her like some of my fellow nerd friends.

Anyways before this turns into a ramble, have you ever had an experience like this? How did you react? Did you ever uncover why your teacher reacted this way?

Sorry if this topic is a bit odd but I'm just confused about it lol

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 25, 2011 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Re: Telling your professors what your major is....

What subject is that professor in?

4. Jul 25, 2011 #3

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm a community college prof, and one thing I can say is that because I have high standards, sometimes I do underestimate students. I've had students I didn't think were that great who transferred to Harvard or Stanford, or who got super high scores in math competitions. Students grow and change, and their teachers only see them through a keyhole. I wouldn't worry too much about it. Your grades are how your profs ultimately tell you their best-calibrated opinions of you.

5. Jul 25, 2011 #4

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper