1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The horrors of First-Year Physics tell me the truth

1. Mar 24, 2010 #1
    I really like to know this because first-year Physics in any university is famed for "weeding out the weak people" and even the best gets destroyed by the course.

Now I just want to know, what chances do I have scoring well in first-year physics?

(Also, does first-year English count towards your GPA? Because in my college, it is a required course)

I am a senior about to graduate, but I have already the following skills

Calculus III completion (going to take Calculus IV when I enter first-year)
    Completed AP Physics C (Mech and E/M), got a 5
    Completed AP Physics B, got a 4...

Will I survive?

EDIT: That is what my college calls it. It says "Calculus IV", the prerequisites are Calculus III. Topics are: curves and surfaces, vector fields, and surface integrals, Divergence Theorem, Green's Theorem and Stokes

Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 24, 2010 #2
    I wouldn't know how you would do. It depends on a lot of things, one of them is where you go to college.

From my experience, first year physics was feared by many people. Most of them are non-majors though. I would guess if they are not familiar with physics or math they would think it's hard. And of course the work load is big compare to some other intro classes, not to mention high-school classes.
    That being said, I didn't think it was particularly difficult. Someone told me when I took it that it's not possible to do well. But I did well anyway without much difficulties.
    Now, upper-level classes are a lot harder (not to compare to graduate classes, but that's getting too far ahead).

what is cal IV anyway? DiffEq?

4. Mar 24, 2010 #3