The worst disease ever in human history

1. WHat is the worst and formidable disease ever in human history? Why?

2. jcsd
  3. mgb_phys

mgb_phys 8,952
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

In terms of total integral number killed over history it's probably malaria.
    In number killed in one outbreak it's the 1918 Flu epidemic.

4. Ivan Seeking

Ivan Seeking 12,519
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Addiction

As near as I can tell, malaria kills about 1 million people a year; alcohol kills about 1.8 million; tobacco kills about 4 million each year, worldwide.

5. 1918 influenza

-killed more people in 1 year than black death was able to over 10 years
    -killed more people in 1 year than the total amount of people combined to date that have died from AIDS
    -infected over 1 billion people
    -depressed the average lifespan age in American by something like 10 years

6. I'm no expert on this subject but I would say smallpox. It killed 90% of the indigenous people in North and South America after Columbus arrived. Plus many people in Europe, Asia and Africa.

7. You are so funny.

8. Ivan Seeking

Ivan Seeking 12,519
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What is funny about that? In the US, at least, addiction is considered to be a disease.

9. mgb_phys

mgb_phys 8,952
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

If you limit it to communicable diseases rather than old age or malnutrition then most diseases are fairly modern in evolutionary terms.
    Smallpox,TB,measles etc are transferred from animals and only appeared in humans when we started living with herds of domesticated livestock say 10,000 years ago.
    Widespread plagues need large concentrations of people living together and long distance trade so only got going 1000 years ago.
    For the first 1-2 million years of human history it was only something flying out of the jungle and biting you that really mattered,

Last edited: Dec 31, 2007
  10. jim mcnamara