1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Theory of special relativity (conceptual problems)

1. Dec 3, 2007 #1
    [SOLVED] theory of special relativity (conceptual problems)

hi all, i've got a few physics questions for you to put some thought into and perhaps to share some expertise with me also...

i'm currently studying about the special theory of relativity and i've got a few conceptual questions that i need help in clarifying on. i'll post the question and give MY answer (of what i have so far) and please correct if i'm wrong or suggest a more suitable answer. thank you.

question 1: does the earth really go around the sun? or is it also valid to say that the sun goes around the earth? discuss in view of the first principle of relativity (that there is no best reference frame). explain.

my answer:yes, the earth orbits around the sun. this is because if we were to be an observer in the distant space looking at the solar system, we would need to have one rocket on (either the right or the left) so that we spin in a circle and thus, would actually witness the earth move around the sun.

question 2:does time dilation mean that time actually passes more slowly in moving frame of references or that it only seems to pass more slowly?

my answer:i am not sure of this answer... but i think yes, time really does pass more slowly because the clock loses "ticks" ?? doesn't the twin paradox support this answer?? or am i getting confused?

question 3:can a particle of nonzero rest mass attain the speed of light?

my answer:truely i say, i do not have a clue for this one. what does "nonzero rest mass" mean, explicitly? is it somehow related to m = m rest/ (squareroot) 1 - v(squared)/c (squared)???