1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transfering after 4th year of UG?

1. Feb 18, 2015 #1
    So my situation is a little odd.

The first part is that I'm double-majoring in physics and electrical engineering. Currently, I'm a "junior", in that I'm in my third year and have junior standing. However, there is a bit of weirdness. Because of all of the requirements of my major, I'm going to be at least a 6-year student, even with summer classes. I won't even take my first advanced (300-level) until the second semester of next year.

If that seems late even given my academic plan, there is a reason for that. I got really sick during my first term on campus and had to take medical excuse for a number of classes, intro classes that are only offered in the Fall (meaning I had to wait an extra year to even start my major) and my second semester I could only do part-time. All of this is of course documented (the courses are listed in my transcript as "excused-medical", and there are records with student health).

I don't want to finish those last two years here. What I really think I would want to do is apply to transfer at the end of my "senior" year or halfway through it. At this point, I'm looking for schools that will allow something like that.

As for my info (to get a picture of what kind of schools I might be able to get into):

GPA: 3.6

Credits completed: 77

Major: Electronics engineering, physics

Activities: Society of Physics Students chapter (President), fencing team, math team, student orchestra

Work: TA'd in the EE and math departments, did research in physics department and was also employed with them to help build/maintain a number of the experimental demos for freshman lab classes.