Trying to fill large gaps in my math education

In summary, the speaker is a 21-year-old physics undergraduate student who switched into physics from another major. They have gaps in their math education from grades 6-12 due to being unmotivated at the time. Despite doing well in calculus, differential equations, and linear algebra in college, their lack of a strong foundation in basic math is causing difficulties in their physics classes. They struggle with visualizing functions, recalling algebra and geometry concepts, and understanding linearity. They are looking for recommendations for textbooks that can help fill in these gaps. The other person suggests reviewing Algebra 1, Algebra 2, and Geometry on their own to improve their math abilities.
J1998
I am currently 21 years old in my 4th of 5 years of physics undergrad (switched into physics). I have massive gaps in the math education I should have gotten from 6th to 12th grade because I was a completely unmotivated student back then. Although I have done well in calculus, diff eqns and linear algebra in college, my lack of a strong foundation in very basic math has really started to cause me trouble in my physics classes.

Mainly I have trouble seeing functions graphically, recalling concepts in algebra and geometry, and things to do with linearity. Surely this is a common problem so I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for textbooks perhaps that are written for people like me.

Physics news on Phys.org
j1998, what you describe is difficult to understand. Algebra 1, Algebra 2, and high school Geometry should fill-in what might be missing quite well for the grade 6 to grade 12 Mathematics abilities. Maybe a good Pre-Algebra textbook can help. Have you considered reviewing Algebra 1 & 2 on your own? Geometry also on your own? You can learn things better the second (and third) time through, than during the first time through.

1. What are some strategies for filling large gaps in my math education?