Undergraduate physics to graduate Applied mathematics

In summary, if you want to pursue a masters in applied math, you should take courses in calculus, probability, linear algebra, and computer science.
theblackfish
I am an undergrad in physics and math (pure). I want to do msc in Applied mathematics . There are few things that worry me :

1. Topology, complex analysis, differential equations, calculus, Probability, 3 Analysis and 3 Algebra - these are roughly my courses. I didn’t take any “applied” kind of courses. So can what are some courses I should definitely take before going to grad school ?

2. Does not having an Applied math undergraduate degree put me in disadvantage when I apply for msc in applied math ?

3. My friend says I have really good physics background and I should apply for physics msc programmes and then later shift to applied things slowly ? What’s your take on that ? (I really don’t feel like studying physics anymore )

4. My programming skills are also weak. What should I learn in programming before I go to grad school ?

Thank you in advance (if you answer)

Physics news on Phys.org
Just curious, what drives your shift from physics to maths?

tade said:
Just curious, what drives your shift from physics to maths?

I joined my undergrad to do Math but then liked physics a lot. Now I realized I am not that good at physics, so I want to shift now.

theblackfish said:
I joined my undergrad to do Math but then liked physics a lot. Now I realized I am not that good at physics, so I want to shift now.
Lol, the math in math is harder than the math in physics.

tade said:
I think I'll be fine. I took more pure math courses than physics courses.

theblackfish said:
I think I'll be fine. I took more pure math courses than physics courses.
hmm, then that might make you well prepared for physics?

tade said:

I know this post is late, but I have the following comments.

theblackfish said: