Understanding the core idea behind determinants

In summary: I am still a bit lost as to how to define it.We saw the diagonals procedure in Calc III (my linear algebra was self-taught). I found it a royal pain in the ass to apply. Only when I learned the geometric interpretation did it make sense.I don't really recall what we did in Calc III for determinant computation. I don't think it was the diagonal procedure, but I don't remember what it was (I have my Calc III books at home).In summary, for all n by n square matrices, the determinant can be defined by forming all possible products taking one number from each row and column in the matrix, multiplying by 1 or -1 depending on the permutation, and adding them all
O.J.
I'm really putting some effort into understanding the core idea behind determinants. For a 2x2 matrix, I obviously saw how to derive the formula for the determinant (using AA^-1=I). The question is, how did they define the |A| for higher order matrices? I'm reading a textbook on linear algebra and it uses permutations in its definition of the determinant? What was the motivation for such a definition? How did they know that such a definition can be applied to all nxn matrices?

Physics news on Phys.org