Uniaxial press: 1 ram vs 2 rams

Metallus
Assume to have 2 hydraulic presses for compacting powders with the following designs:
ApOp4pV.png

Press A has 2 rams that apply force in opposite directions, pointing towards the powders in the middle
Press B has 1 ram that applies force in one direction, towards the base of the press

My colleagues keep telling me that Press A is "symmetric", has different stress distribution and will lead to a more uniform compacted pellet, whereas press B will have a "gradient" compacting because of the non-uniform stress (keeping the overall applied force constant).

Why should it be different? Even if I'm applying a load only on one ram, the other end will apply an equal force in the opposite direction by reaction (3rd law), since it's the same material anyways. It should be the exact same thing. I'm a chemist and they are engineers, so I always assume to be in the wrong in these matters, but this just sounds too wrong to my brain.

What am I missing? Can you help me?

Answers and Replies

In the absence of friction, your contention that A and B should be equivalent is certainly correct.

With friction (particularly side wall friction), there will be some difference.

Metallus
In the absence of friction, your contention that A and B should be equivalent is certainly correct.

With friction (particularly side wall friction), there will be some difference.
If you are referring to friction between the ram and the walls of the sample holder, it should be negligible since everything is lubricated. If you are referring to the powders pressing against the walls horizontally and generating attrition when they are pressed vertically, then what would change? On the other end we have the same situation, don't we?

And what about their claims? Are they indeed fictitious or have any basis? They always say that the stress distribution isn't the same. What do they actually mean?

Mech_Engineer
Science Advisor
Gold Member