Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Universe as Computer Sim. - Practical Considerations

1. Aug 9, 2008 #1
    I don't think there's a thread directly on point here but if so my apologies in advance.

I'm an ex-computer scientist and so I thought it'd be interesting to discuss what would go into a computer simulation of the universe.

More specifically, I'm wondering if the things about quantum mechanics that wierd us out - wave/particle duality, entanglement, etc. - might be explained as glitches or bugs in the simulation.

Let's say we're simulating the emission of a photon and the odds of it interacting with an electron 1 meter away. Are there practical reasons we can think of to represent the path of the photon as a wavefunction rather than a random, pre-determined vector? In other words is it easier to compute a probability of a particular photon and electron interacting by using their respective wavefunctions than by deterministically tracing their paths and continuously calculating whether they'll come close enough to interact?

I have to imagine the answer is yes but I wonder if anyone else has done a more rigorous analysis.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 9, 2008 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Since the theory is exquisitely well proven it is very unlikely to be a bug.

4. Aug 9, 2008 #3

DaveC426913

Gold Member

It seems to me that the worst the computer can be accused of is merely that it's presenting a sim that does not have internally consistent behaviour.

The computer that runs the simulation must, by definition, be able to manipulate bits that, within the sim, appear to be spatially isolated - that is to say, the computer could, if so desired, make two electrons on opposite sides of its sandbox-sim-universe behave as if connected. It has to have trhis capability, if it is to function at all.