Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stargazing What can I get to improve telescope

1. May 22, 2007 #1
    Hey there, I am new to this particular forum. I recently picked up a Meade starting level telescope (nothing electric). I caught a glimpse of my first planet last night and it was rad! I do not know which planet it was, but I assume it was Jupiter as it had some dots around it....they were either Jupiter's moons or I am mistaking and they were just distant(er) stars.

The planet was exremely small in my viewfinder though, so my question is this:Can someone tell me. . . What is a good accessory to add to my scope to help me see things "better"....Is there a recomended lense?

I have a Barlow lense, but I do not seem to benefit from it. I also have the lenses my scope came with: 25mm (I use that to spot things) 9mm(gets me sharper, I think) and a 17mm (I have not found a use yet).....

I understand that magnification is not as important as resolution, but is there a way I can magnify things to a certain extent without compromising clarity?

Thanks,
    Casey

2. jcsd
  3. May 22, 2007 #2

chemisttree

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

What is the focal length of your scope? A good planetary scope will have a fairly large focal length. A rough guide for the maximum reasonable magnification that your scope will produce is 50 times the diameter of the mirror in inches. A 4" mirror will at best produce useable images up to 200X magnification. That means that when viewing is optimal, 200X is the best you will do. At that magnification images will be shaky and will streak across your field of view.