What does "Log in with your Google account" mean?

  • Thread starter Thread starter DaveC426913
  • Start date Start date
Join the discussion
Registration is free. Ask a follow-up in this thread, or start your own.
6 replies · 288 views
DaveC426913
Gold Member
2025 Award
Messages
24,657
Reaction score
9,025
I have used this feature to sign in on scores of sites over many years.
1788805355048.webp

As far as I have ever experienced, this is entirely handled under my Google account and that is only thing I have to manage.

I signed in to this one place (major cinema corporation) and this is what I got:
1788805607733.webp


I then received an email telling me I have to update my account.

This is not like any sign in I've ever experienced. AITA?
 
Physics news on Phys.org
Do you feel lucky?

If you supplied them the address to your gmail account, that doesn't mean that it's trustworthy.
 
What's the return email on their email? Not what they show but what it shows when you mouse over it?

Basically, I wouldn't trust it.
 
The authenticity of the company itself is not really in question. (It's Cineplex)

(I should say that I spent a half hour on a virtual chat arguing my displeasure.)


Borg said:
What's the return email on their email? Not what they show but what it shows when you mouse over it?
Yes. I checked.


My complaint is that seems to be a Dark Design Pattern (from a legit company).

But I'm second-guessing whether I'm right.
 
I don't log into my Gmail for anything like that but as I understand it, once you're logged in, that should be sufficient for a partner company to use some info from your logged in Gmail accout for verification and validation.

Whenever a company runs me though a process like this and then tells me that I "have to install something", red flags go off. If it's something I really want, I may try alternatives but I absolutely would not install anything that a site sent me. If they say that you need to update your browser and you're OK with doing that, then go into your browser's settings and use the update button there. If they still insist that you use their version of the browser, then they're trying to install something that you'll regret - typically a browser addon.

Never, never, never click on anything that a site sends you no matter how legit it may be. Even when I get notifications from my medical provider that I know are legit, I still use my bookmarked link to log in. The only exception that I have to this is if I had to use a "Forgot Password" link and I have no choice.
 
Reply
  • Agree
  • Like
Likes   Reactions: Klystron, BillTre, DaveC426913 and 2 others
DaveC426913 said:
I signed in to this one place (major cinema corporation) and this is what I got:
1788805607733.webp


I then received an email telling me I have to update my account.
I don't understand. Which password do you need to update? Isn't the point of logging in with your Google account to not have a password with them?

Or is it that they want you to sign in again with your Google account to make sure it is still you? (i.e., not sign in with a previously set cookie, or the like.)
 
Borg said:
I don't log into my Gmail for anything like that but as I understand it, once you're logged in, that should be sufficient for a partner company to use some info from your logged in Gmail accout for verification and validation.

Whenever a company runs me though a process like this and then tells me that I "have to install something", red flags go off. If it's something I really want, I may try alternatives but I absolutely would not install anything that a site sent me. If they say that you need to update your browser and you're OK with doing that, then go into your browser's settings and use the update button there. If they still insist that you use their version of the browser, then they're trying to install something that you'll regret - typically a browser addon.

Never, never, never click on anything that a site sends you no matter how legit it may be. Even when I get notifications from my medical provider that I know are legit, I still use my bookmarked link to log in. The only exception that I have to this is if I had to use a "Forgot Password" link and I have no choice.
Agree on all points. I never click through from an email. I always go to the site directly.

But in this case, it's not that I don't trust that I'm dealing with a legit company here (there's no question it's Cineplex); I'm just trying to figure out if Cineplex is using a Dark Design Pattern (leveraging my Google account to get me to make a Cineplex account).