What is Method of Characteristics?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the topic of method of characteristics and its application in fluid mechanics, specifically in designing a CD nozzle for a final year project. The speaker is a mechanical engineering student who has not been exposed to this method before and is seeking help in understanding it. They are advised to have a good understanding of multi-variable calculus and differential equations, and to refer to books such as "Lawrence Evans' PDE textbook" or "J.D. Hoffman's Numerical Methods for Engineers and Scientists". Another book recommended is "E.B. Wylie and V.L. Streeter's Fluid Transients" which contains a chapter on the characteristics method. The method of characteristics is also mentioned as a way to solve the Burgers equation
HollyFlame
(I am new to this forum so please do forgive me if I am posting at a wrong place.)

Hello,
I am a final year student of BS Mechanical Engineering and method of characteristics is not a part of our curriculum. In-fact I heard of it first time after finally picking my FYP. My final year project is to design analyze and manufacture a CD Nozzle which would achieve Mach 3. I was told by my supervisor that I would have to build the profile of the nozzle using method of characteristics because he wants the profile to be generalized so that every time the inlet condition changes, the profile changes automatically. My supervisor who himself is only a doctorate has never studied MOC himself so he can not help me. I want to know what it is and how could I start practicing it. Moreover what are the pre-requisites to start learning it. Any help would highly be appreciated.
Kind regards.

Physics news on Phys.org