Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is so beautiful about Euler's Identity?

1. Dec 11, 2008 #1
    I'm a pretty novice Physicist/Mathematician, but I've got a few offers for good universities, to show you my general level of knowledge.

Could someone please explain in terms I will understand why this equation is considered so perfect and beautiful?
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 11, 2008 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

What is so beautiful about the Mona Lisa?

Euler's equation, [itex]e^{i\pi}+ 1= 0[/itex], which can also be written [itex]e^{i\pi}= -1, combines five fundamental constants, 0, 1 (or -1), e, i, and [itex]\pi[/itex] into a single, simple, equation. Simplicity and depth make for beauty.
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2008
  4. Dec 11, 2008 #3

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Error! Should be + 1 = 0, not -1.
  5. Dec 11, 2008 #4
    'Tis true... both of the above.
  6. Dec 12, 2008 #5

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I think that the "beauty" is in the fact that the constants are from very different branches of mathematics. 0, 1 and i are from algebra, e is from calculus/analysis, and [itex]\pi[/itex] is from geometry.
  7. Dec 12, 2008 #6

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

And in combining those fundamental constants it uses each of the 4 fundamental math operations: Addition, multiplication, exponentiation and equality.

All to arrive at a result that seems impossible.

How can that be anything but beautiful?
  8. Dec 12, 2008 #7
    Why does no one mention the i, is there nothing special about imaginary numbers or something?
  9. Dec 15, 2008 #8
    Am I the only one who isn't in awe of this equation?