What should I do? I am sooo indecisive

• Thread starter Physics_UG
  • Start date
In summary, the individual graduated with a dual degree in electrical engineering and physics in 2008 and went on to pursue a PhD in electrical engineering, but left after a year due to conflicts within the research group. They then took a year leave of absence and considered various options, such as going to medical school, pursuing an MBA, or going back to grad school for medical physics. Ultimately, they are considering going back for a bachelor's in mechanical engineering to work in the aerospace industry. However, they are unsure of their path and are also considering finding a job in industry or joining the military. It seems that there may be other underlying factors causing uncertainty and hesitation in their decision-making process.
Physics_UG
Gold Member
So I graduated with a dual degree in electrical engineering and physics in 2008 (took me 5 yrs). Then I went to graduate school (PhD) in electrical engineering from 2008-2009. I didn't like the research I was doing and I was in a conflict with one of the students in me research group (long story), so I left after a year. I took a year leave of absence (2009-2010) and tried to find a job in industry but I couldn't find anything. Granted, I didn't look THAT hard since I had my heart set on going back to grad school and finishing my PhD (to a different research group). Well, I went back to grad school in the Fall 2010 to a theory group. I didn't like theory very much (sitting in front of a computer all day) and I wasn't getting along with my roommate (well, we got along but I didn't like his partying habits...he would bring lots of people over to the apartment at like 2am and whatnot). I wasn't happy in general so I left grad school again. Now I am back at home living with my parents.