Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What should I read next? Advice needed!

1. Mar 22, 2010 #1
    I'm not doing physics at college but I want to dabble in the concepts and the mathematics of it. I already know the basic physics of motion, force and etc. (physics without calculus so far) and now I want to do something more advanced. My mathematics is fine ( basic calculus, complex algebra, linear algebra etc.) even though I have a lot of multi-variable calculus yet to learn. The point is, with mathematics I have all the resources I need and I find it easy to take it to any level I want. With Physics however, I don't know any good books or websites to get me beyond this elementary stage in physics. This is because I am self-taught.

I would be so grateful if people could recommend me some books or websites bearing in mind the following:

- My Physics knowledge is elementary, despite my maths knowledge
    - I do not want to become a physicist, I just want to have an understanding of the important equations in relativity and quantum physics. I am not interested in doing long drawn out mechanics problems but I am willing to slog a fair bit to get to my goal (just not too much!). It's having a mathematical understanding of the concepts I'm after.
    - The cheaper the better! I'm poor and I can't afford to spend a hell of a lot. This aside, I am willing to fork out a bit if you really think the book is worth the money it's demanding.

Thank you very much!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 22, 2010 #2
    Firstly, welcome to the forums, horacesilver!

I'm not really sure this is a realistic goal and, to be honest, it sounds as though your math knowledge is fairly basic as well, though forgive me if I misunderstand. But! I am all for trying, and enjoy anyone with enthusiasm.