1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What to do with free elective credits?

1. Jan 2, 2012 #1
    Hi,

While I'm majoring in electrical engineering my question is just in general what to do to make you more marketable to employers and is relevant to any major. My particular major allows me 24 credits of free elective credit that I can be whatever I wish to earn my B.S.. There's no sense in me taking basket weaving 101 and other such classes that have nothing to do with my major to fill these 24 credits of free choice. I'd rather pursue possibly a minor or pursue a masters in electrical engineering or something productive that would make me more marketable for jobs.

The particular masters degree for electrical engineering requires that I take 27 credits. So I could chop away a good chunk of my masters and only be three credits short (only 1 class) from getting my masters if I put all 24 credits to the total 27 needed to get a masters. I could possibly just pay whatever is needed to take those three credits over winter break or summer. Should I do this or pursue a minor using those free credits? I could possibly get a minor in mathematics if I only take two more classes in math but then I would take away 6 credits that could of used to take credits for a masters.

I'm not exactly sure what is the best thing to do with 24 credits of free elective and don't want to take stupid classes that will not help me out in the long run at all. Thanks for any advice.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 2, 2012 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor