When particles are not being observed do they still exist?

In summary: So observation does not necessarilly mean a living being observes, and the universe would be in a state of chaos if that were the case.
courtney1111
I was hoping someone could explain, in terms I can understand, the movement of particles. Clearly I am not a scientist, but I just want to fully understand the idea that when particles are not being observed they either no longer exist or just do as they please. The example I was given is that when you are looking at your bedroom door it's tiny particles are aware they are being observed and appear as your bedroom door. However, when you look away the door might not exist at all. If this is true how do they know they are being observed? And if they are responding by either becoming positively or negatively charged based on the awareness of the others charges, how do they know they are being observed in order to respond correctly? I hope I have phrased this is an accurate enough way. I am sure it is apparent that I don't have a real understanding of the subject.

Physics news on Phys.org
When they aren't being observed their wavefunction is a superposition of possible states, this doesn't mean they don't exist.

"Particle" is a concept that can be described in many different ways.

If one looks at quantum field theory one could say that a particle is something that carries a certain amount of momentum and energy, has a well defined invariant mass m² = E² - p² and transformes therefore in a proper way under Lorentz transformations. If this is sufficient, than such a "particle" does always exist, even w/o looking at it. But the concept is rather abstract and stricly speaking one is still not able to describe such a particle accureately by modern physics - only approximations are known.